In 2010, Port Washington resident Monika Dorman brought together a group of rowers and community leaders to pursue her vision of a rowing club for the children of Port Washington. Monika had rowed the waters around the Port Washington peninsula for many years. She recruited Mitch Tamkin and Steve Panzik, both former high school, collegiate and US Junior Team rowers, and Bo Hansen, a former Danish National Lightweight rower. The rowers joined with Trish Quirk and several other community advocates to form Friends of Port Rowing. Together, the work began. A generous donor purchased seven used boats. In April, 2011, 94 novice rowers took to the water from the Village Club of Sands Point with Steve Panzik as head coach. We won five races at our first competition, the Big Duck Regatta. Our Boys Four won a gold medal at the Long Island Championships. Our Girls Four won a New York State Championship in Saratoga. That was just the beginning.

Port Rowing: One Stroke, One Boat, One Goal!



Oskar Bros - USC
Hannah Jackman - GW
Logan Katz - Brandeis
Maddie Lavin - UNC
Adam Lyman - Penn
Brendan McCormack - GW
Katherine Melkonian - Williams
Michael Nachman  - Dartmouth
Yuval Philipson - Cooper Union
Julia Ritholz - Emory
Phara Ross - Tulane
Tiger Russell-Yeh - Michigan
Eva Tamkin - Haverford
Ryan Tawil - Michigan
Jackie Thoet – Villanova


2016 Seniors

Maxwell Silverstein - Duke
Isabella Soldano - Cornell
Aaron Bosgang - Yale
Demetra Vlahos - Miami University
Jake Finkelstein - Delaware University
Nida Peleda - George Mason
Theodore Gaidis - Michigan State
Amanda Gregus - Weslyan
Philip Verdirame - Boston College
Susan Maroney - University of Pennsylvania
Austin Small - Marietta College
Noelle Young - University of Dayton
Will Day - Furman University





Eric Adsetts - Wake Forest
Molly Alstodt - Boston University
Mara Davis - Vanderbilt
Alex Herron - Columbia
Ashley Meyer - NYU
Jessica Sims - Wisconsin


2014 seniors sweatshirts2

Matthew Brandes - Johns Hopkins University
Kim Byrne - Elon University
Jordan Martin - Clarkson University
Matt Digiovanni - Wesleyan University
Carl Finkbeiner - Cornell University
Zach Herron - Northwestern University
Joel Kagan - University of Pennsylvania
Joe Finkelstein - Dartmouth College
Maddie Omeltchenko - UNC Chapel Hill
Hannah Rosen - Bucknell University
Noah Ross - Columbia University
Leo Santala - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)
Ben Schor - Amherst College
CJ Tantillo - Temple University
Julia Venitti - University of Virginia
Liz Waskover - University of Florida
John Wasserman - Iona College


our first regatta cropped with title

Erin Condon - Hobart Williams Smith College
Lindsay Heyman - Southern Methodist University
Ashley Iannucci - Fairfield University
Melissa Iannucci - Fairfield University
John Meyer - NYU
Aaron Moslow - Wesleyan University
Maggie Nelson - Clemson University


John Curtis - University of Rochester
Meghan Ferris - University of Michigan
Michael Lozner - University of New Hampshire
Spencer Moslow - Tufts University
Annie Waskover - University of Delaware


Jason Moss - SUNY Binghamton
Spencer Moslow - Tufts University
Kyra Schor (Coxswain) - Smith College